A prayer to self

We had a walk together.

What a walk…it spanned more than four decades!

As we walked along, we talked endlessly…

endlessly of the joys of our babies, businesses being conceived and

delivered….of making new friends,

the excitement of visiting new lands, the professional highs……!!

Talked about the pain and bewilderment of our parents and in-laws going away,

and siblings drifting away………..,

the joys and anxieties of preparing and seeing our children flying out on their own……!!

Talked of gaining weight, losing weight, the menopause……,

dreams about our dead parents, strangeness and beauty of relations and life.

Wondered why money is more important than the human feelings…!

Wondered why some souls are so poor under the guise of best clothes…!!

(not that we claimed that ours were the most evolved ones).

The talk and the walk comes to an end abruptly…..

Perhaps you chose to go……at least you should have said ‘goodbye’;

because you know very well that  I do not understand the very obvious nor take any hints….

I need to be told in bare words, in plain language…………

I stand at the same intersection, waiting for you to join……………

Should I wait any longer ………

I strain to hear every sound which sounds like yours.

Crane my neck and stare with all my hope at every shadow walking towards me.

How long should I…?

How long………………..??

I raise a prayer to my own self:

“Move or you will perish…,

move for there are things to be done before you come a full circle!!!”

Leave a Reply

