How Much is Too Much….?

(from mother of a teen!   with love…….to all the parents!)

I peep………

Her face is sideways

Visible only is the tip of her nose,

Coz her face is hidden beneath her

long, black, tangled, untied hair.

She can hardly hear me

Or for that matter anything/anybody

So oblivious of

everything around her…….

Though I  can hear her peals of laughter

as her eyes are glued to the TV!

I peep into the room

of my teen aged daughter……….

For me it is jumble of inside out clothes, bedsheets, towels,

dishes, crying  out to be put into their places!

For her, everything is so damn orderly………

O! the triumphant look on her face when  she could find

her favorite hairband or remote amidst everything so fast!

“I told you …..everything is perfect ..I know what is where!”

The whole day she can roam about

in oversized clothes, slippers…

Everything at least 3 sizes bigger!

She wore her papa’s pull the whole of winter

and walked with the pride of freedom in those

big, spread out, unapologetic  reebok slippers of her dad!

“O, they are so comfy mom….!”

Exams are here,

More than the kids, the moms are

busy exchanging notes and worrying themselves dead..

“You know, my daughter does NOT study at all…”

Gathering courage of  a righteous parent,

I admonish her to be serious about her ‘studies’.

I tell her umpteenth times, “I will not remind

you to study. After all, it  is your life…you should know how important

it is to………………….”

We mothers walk on such a tight rope,

A LITTLE overdoing AND we are labeled  a nagging MOM!

I am advised to ” take a chill pill.”

The room is littered with empty  glasses of coke

and scrunched bags/boxes of

pizzas and burgers.

When the things go overboard,

and I wonder  “HOW MUCH IS TOO MUCH………”

She senses now it is time to beat a retreat……….

She would lovingly put her

arms around me,

her cascade of black silk

nudging softly against my cheeks and would tweet:

“Mumma, I am a child only!

You should have had the willpower to …….,….,…….,………,……..,

…..,………”

Leave a Reply

